Welcome to the Department of Physics

Department Profile :
The department was started in 2002 in affiliation with Osmania University in the government Degree College for Women in Wanaparthy offering M. Sc. Physics with Electronics and Instrumentation as specialization. The total intake of the students is 30. In 2008, it was shifted to government Degree College for Men. Subsequently, the department has become part of the Palamuru University in 2015. Being at 4 km away from the Wanaparthy town, the schooling in the department is ideal for students that want to travel a bit and enjoy peaceful college life.
At present, the department has five dynamic academic consultants as teaching faculty that have obtained their PG degrees from Hyderabad Central University and Osmania universities and worked for their PhD in USA, postdoc in TIFR, etc. The department is conducting research on laser induced plasma, laser induced fusion energy, THz spectroscopy, metamaterials, fabrication of electronic materials, thin films, etc.
The M.Sc. course is of two years duration. In the first two semesters, general physics, electronics, advanced electronics courses are covered in both theory and labs. In the third and fourth semesters, courses are covered on specialization related subjects along with some general physics courses. Most of the students graduated from the department are working in reputed corporate junior colleges and as teachers in private and government schools.
The department has necessary equipment required for laboratory courses. In the first semester, lab courses are covered on Heat-Acoustics and Optics, in second semester, Electronics and C-programming. In the third semester, lab courses are on Nuclear Physics and Modern Physics and in the fourth semester, Analogue and digital simulations and microprocessor and microcontrollers. To cater the needs of the students for out of class work, the department has good number of reference books available in the library.