PG CENTER WANAPARTHY is working in the premises of Govt. Degree College (Men) Wanaparthy under the control of Palamuru University from 2008. Previously it was under the affiliation of Osmania University since 2002. It was started with the introduction of M.Sc. Physics course, after that it came under the jurisdiction of Palamuru University from 2008 onwards. Then the Palamuru University started the various courses including M.Sc. Botany, M.Sc. Zoology & M.A. English in the subsequent academic years.

Presently the courses offered are:

  1. M.Sc. Physics
  2. M.Sc. Chemistry
  3. M.Sc. Botany
  4. M.Sc. Zoology
  5. M.A. English

Every Department of the PG Center has well qualified Faculty, well equipped Labs, and enriched Library.

  1. Department of Physics

               The department was started in 2002 in affiliation with Osmania University in the government Degree College for Women in Wanaparthy offering M. Sc. Physics with Electronics and Instrumentation as specialization. The total intake of the students is 30. In 2008, it was shifted to government Degree College for Men. Subsequently, the department has become part of the Palamuru University in 2015. Being at 4 km away from the Wanaparthy town, the schooling in the department is ideal for students that want to travel a bit and enjoy peaceful college life.

              At present, the department has five dynamic academic consultants as teaching faculty that have obtained their PG degrees from Hyderabad Central University and Osmania universities and worked for their PhD in USA, postdoc in TIFR, etc. The department is conducting research on laser induced plasma, laser induced fusion energy, THz spectroscopy, metamaterials, fabrication of electronic materials, thin films, etc.

              The M.Sc. course is of two years duration. In the first two semesters, general physics, electronics, advanced electronics courses are covered in both theory and labs. In the third and fourth semesters, courses are covered on specialization related subjects along with some general physics courses. Most of the students graduated from the department are working in reputed corporate junior colleges and as teachers in private and government schools.

              The department has necessary equipment required for laboratory courses. In the first semester, lab courses are covered on Heat-Acoustics and Optics, in second semester, Electronics and C-programming. In the third semester, lab courses are on Nuclear Physics and Modern Physics and in the fourth semester, Analogue and digital simulations and microprocessor and microcontrollers. To cater the needs of the students for out of class work, the department has good number of reference books available in the library.

    List Of faculties
    S.No Name Designation
    1 Dr. S. Bagvanth Reddy Academic Consultant
    2 Mrs. Haritha Academic Consultant
    3 Mr. Kurumurthy Academic Consultant
    4 Mr. Satyanarayana Academic Consultant
    5 Mr. Srinivasulu Academic Consultant
  2. Department of Botany

              Department of Botany has been established in the year 2008 at Govt Degree College for Men, Wanaparthy. Since year 2015-2016 it is under the control of Palamuru University and now it is a P.G Center of Palamuru University. The intake of students is thirty (30). Students are admitted through OU entrance test, Department has one staff room and two independent labs, with carpet area of 167 sq. mts. The department well established with modern equipments., viz., over head projector, slide projector, colorimeter, research monocular microscopes, research binocular microscopes, centrifuge, hot air oven, Autoclave and microtome. The Department of Botany is maintaining Botanical garden in about 500 sq. mts area in the college campus, it proposes to improve year by year with plantation of new herbal plants and it is conducting seminars, extension lectures, field trips, Botanical tours and also faculty members are participating in various Universities seminars, conferences and workshops. It has 80 volumes of reference books. The department motivates the students towards the establishment of self employment schemes such as tissue culture and horticulture centres.

    List Of faculties
    S.No Name Designation
    1 Dr. A.BALEESHWAR REDDY Academic Consultant
    2 Dr . KHAJAMOINUDDIN MOHAMMAD Academic Consultant
    3 Dr. D. SNEHALATHA Academic Consultant
    4 Mrs. J. SWAPNA Academic Consultant
  3. Department of Chemistry

              Department offering M.Sc. Chemistry course with an intake of 30 seats. Department maintains good infrastructure including Labs, Library and qualified Faculty members.

    List Of faculties
    S.No Name Designation
    1 Dr. G. Bhagavanth Reddy Academic Consultant
    2 Mr. Ramudu Pochamoni Academic Consultant
  4. Department of Zoology

              Department offering M.Sc. Zoology course with an intake of 30 seats. Department maintains good infrastructure including Labs, Library and qualified Faculty members.

    List Of faculties
    S.No Name Designation
    1 Dr.N.Chandra Shekar Reddy Academic Consultant
    2 Mr. M. Hanumanthu Academic Consultant
    3 Mrs. V. MANJULA Academic Consultant
    4 Mr. Mohammed Farook Ali Academic Consultant
  5. Department of English

              Department offering M.A. English course with an intake of 30 seats. Department maintains good infrastructure including Labs, Library and qualified Faculty members.

    List Of faculties
    S.No Name Designation
    1 Ms. M. Rajalaxmi Academic Consultant
    2 Mr. M.D. Suman Prasad Academic Consultant
    3 Dr. M. Thirupathi Reddy Academic Consultant
    4 Ms. Vijaya Lakshmi Tatikonda Academic Consultant